Rashtrakuta Dynasty

The Rashtrakuta Dynasty was a prominent ancient power flourished in India between the sixth and the tenth century AD. During this timeframe, the Rashtrakuta Empire was spread across a large part of the IndianSubcontinent. The earliest inscription of Rashtrakutas, found till date, is a copper plate grant which determine that the territories of the empire were spread from Manpur situated in the Malwa region of the present day’s state ofMadhya PradeshRashtrakuta inscriptions determining the rule of other Rashtrakuta clans, at approximately the same time, in Achalpur, now known as Elichpur and situated in present days’s Maharashtra, and Kannauj in the northern India have also been found. Though, many historical evidences have been found on the Rashtrakutas, but their origin, native home and official language still remains a mystery.
The Rashtrakuta clan which ruled from the city of Achalpur, now known as Elichpur, was essentially a feudatory of the Badami Chalukyas. Under the reign of ruler Dantidurga, this clan was successful in overthrowing Kirtivarman-II of the Badami Chalukyas and proclaimed its territory as an independent state. After that, under the leadership of Dantidurga, this Rashtrakuta Empire began to expand its boundaries with the Gulbarga region, situated in present day’s Karnataka, as its base. In 753, this clan was able to achieve prominence in the whole of South India and was famously known as the Rashtrakutas of Manyakheta. At about the same timeframe in which the Rashtrakutas were gaining prominence, the Pratihara Dynasty of Malwa and the Pala Dynasty of Bengal were also gaining supremacy in the north-western and eastern regions of India respectively. According to an Arabic writing, known as the Silsilatuttavarikh, the Rashtrakuta Empire was one amongst the four principle empires of the world in its time.
Between the timeframe of the eighth and the tenth century AD, there existed a continuous struggle between the rulers of the Pratihara Dynasty, the Pala Dynasty and the Rashtrakuta Dynasty to gain prominence and exploit the rich resources in the Gagaetic plains of North India. Also, all the three empires were successful in establishing their rule at Kannauj for a short-lived period of time. At its peak, the Rashtrakuta Empire stretched from the doab of river Ganga and river Yamuna in the north to the Cape Comorin in the south. The reign of this dynasty was marked by political expansion, some famous literary contributions and architectural achievements. The early Rashtrakuta rulershad faith in Hinduism but the later rulers got inclined towards Jainism.
In the reign of Rashtrakutas, Jain scholars and mathematicians contributed some of the great ancient works in two languages, Sanskrit and Kannada. Also, under their rule, the Dravidian style of architecture reached new heights, the finest example of which would be the Kailasnath temple of Ellora. Some other important architectural contributions ofRashtrakutas include the Kashivishvanath temple and the Jain Narayana temple, both situated at Pattadakal in the state of Karnataka, and the sculptures found at the Elephanta Caves, situated in Maharashtra.

List of rulers of the Rashtrakuta Dynasty

  • Dantidurga (735 AD to 756 AD)
  • Krishna I (756 AD to 774 AD)
  • Govinda II (774 AD to 780 AD)
  • Dhruva Dharavarsha (780 AD to 793 AD)
  • Govinda III (793 AD to 814 AD)
  • Amoghavarsha I (814 AD to 878 AD)
  • Krishna II (878 AD to 914 AD)
  • Indra III (914 AD to 929 AD)
  • Amoghavarsha II (929 AD to 930 AD)
  • Govinda IV (930 AD to 936 AD)
  • Amoghavarsha III (936 AD to 939 AD)
  • Krishna III (939 AD to 967 AD)
  • Khottiga Amoghavarsha (967 AD to 972 AD)
  • Karka II (972 AD to 973 AD)
  • Indra IV (973 AD to 982 AD)


Post a Comment

Popular Posts